The West Florida Public Library issues library cards to all eligible individuals without regard to race, national origin, color, religion, sex, economic status, disability, age, sexual orientation, marital status, or genetic/health status.
All registration and circulation records, except statistical reports of registration and circulation, are kept confidential from public records disclosure, in accordance with Section 257.261, Florida Statutes.
Library cards are not transferable and may not be used by others. The only exceptions are the following:
- Homebound cardholders may designate someone to use their card to check out materials for them.
- A parent of a minor child may use the minor’s card to check out materials for the child.
Getting a Library Card
- Adults (age 18+) may apply for a library card by completing a library card application, and providing a valid photo ID with their current physical address, such as a Florida Driver’s License, a Florida Identification Card, or a Military ID.
- Minors (ages birth-17) may apply for a library card when their parent or legal guardian (with proper ID) accompanies them to the library. Age may restrict access to particular library resources
Library Card Responsibilities
- Library patrons are responsible for all items checked out on their card.
- If the card is lost or stolen, notify the library immediately.
- Patrons are responsible for any items checked out on their card prior to the card being reported lost or stolen.
- A patron may receive one replacement card per year. After the first replacement card, cards are reissued at a cost of $1.00 each, with proper identification. This replacement policy and fee applies to all library cards, including student library cards.
- Parents or legal guardians are responsible for all items, fines, and charges on the cards of their minor children.
Two Year Term Card: Patron must meet one of the following requirements:
- Live in or own property in Escambia County
- Own a business in Escambia County
- Work for the City of Pensacola, Town of Century, or Escambia County
- Minors (ages birth-17) of a qualifying adult parent
One Year Term Card: Patron must meet one of the following requirements:
- Employed at a public or private school in Escambia County
- Member of the military and works at a military base in Escambia County
- Attends any public or private school in Escambia County and can provide a current class schedule or school Identification
- Residents of Santa Rosa County, Florida pay an annual $50 fee
Short Term Card: Checkouts are limited to books, Compact Discs (Music and Audiobooks), DVDs & Blu-Rays, and eResources (i.e., eBooks). Patron must meet one of the following requirements:
- Resides in a treatment or rehabilitation program in Escambia County and can provide an official letter verifying his or her address (valid 90 days)
- Lives in an Escambia County shelter or an extended stay accommodation and can provide an official letter from the organization verifying his or her address (valid 90 days)
- Patron is visiting Escambia County for three (3) or more weeks and can provide a lease agreement. Card expires at the end of the lease period.
Student Card: Parents or legal guardians of students in Escambia County Public Schools, Escambia County Homeschoolers, or other Escambia County K-12 educational institutions may request a no fines or fees library card for their minor.
- Checkout limit to three (3) books (includes print and audio).
- Items returned that are damaged beyond repair will result in a reduction in the number of items allowed.
- Student Library cards can be used to ride Escambia County Area Transit (ECAT) for free.
- Patrons may check out the following number of items, per visit:
- Up to 15 physical books;
- Up to 4 books on CD;
- Up to 4 Music CDs;
- Up to 4 DVDs (age restrictions may apply);
- Up to 1 Launchpad; and
- Up to 4 Children’s voice books (i.e., VOX books and Wonderbooks)
Loan Periods and Overdue Fines
|Library Materials||Loan Period (Days)||Overdue Fines|
|Books, Compact Discs (Music and Audiobooks)||21||$0.20 per day/$7.00max|
|DVDs & Blu-Rays||7||$0.20 per day/$7.00 max|
|Launchpads & Library of Things||7||$0.20 per day/$7.00 max|
|Interlibrary Loans||21 (no renewal)||Assessed by owning library|
|eResources (i.e., eBooks)||Varies per Vendor||No Fines|
Renewals - All library materials may be renewed a maximum of two (2) times, as long as no other requests have been placed on the item.
Card Balance - A balance of $30.00 or more on a library card prevents renewals, additional checkouts, and public computer use. Patrons may pay their fees online or in person at any library location.
Overdue notices are a courtesy to our patrons and are not required by law. Patrons may check the status of their borrowed materials at any time on the library’s website.
Lost and Damaged Materials
Library items damaged while in a cardholder’s possession will be billed to the cardholder as follows:
|Missing CD/DVD Case||$2.00|
|Missing Audiobook CD or case||$10.00|
|Items lost or damaged beyond repair (i.e. wet or stained items, severely scratched CDs & DVDs, items with pages torn out, etc.)||Retail price + $5.00 non-refundable processing fee|
A cardholder who pays for and then returns a lost item may request a refund within thirty (30) days of the payment date. The $5.00 processing fee is not refundable.
The library assumes no responsibility for damage or alleged damage to a borrower’s electronic device caused by library materials.
- A cardholder may request any circulating library item by visiting any library location or by visiting the library’s website.
- The maximum number of simultaneous holds requested on a library card is fifteen (15).
- The library does not guarantee the availability of requested items.
- Patrons will be notified when their requested items are ready for pickup. Requested items including interlibrary loans (ILL) will be held for five (5) days from notification.
Revised and approved on 11/14/2022 by the West Florida Public Libraries Board of Governance.